William C. "Bill" Kimbrell Memorial Golf Tournament

The York Technical College Foundation hosted the William C. "Bill" Kimbrell Memorial Golf Tournament on Monday, May 10, 2010. One hundred and twenty-five golfers turned out to play the beautiful Springfield Golf Club course. The weather was absolutely beautiful and several folks commented that Bill was certainly smiling on and enjoying the event.

With a passion for fundraising and individual student success, it was a fitting tribute to Mr. Kimbrell as the group of friends, relatives, business associates, and corporate partners combined their dollars to raise over $100,000 for student scholarships. There is no doubt that Mr. Kimbrell would be humbled by this show of support and financial backing for students.

The reception following the tournament was catered by Leroy Springs catering and featured pork loin, grilled chicken, spring rolls, fruit, cheeses, and a variety of desserts and other items. Golf Pro Bud Welch was on hand the whole day to supervise the event and keep everything related to golf running smoothly. The help of Bud and his outgoing staff made the day run smoothly and efficiently.

The winning team sponsored by Piedmont Medical Center was made up of Charlie Miller, Don Currier, John Turner, and Clair Jaberg. This group won with a score of 56. The second place team was sponsored by Haile Gold Mine from Lancaster. The team comprised of Joey Munn, Michael Davis, Sammie Hunter, and Randy Young scored a 57. Awards were presented by Rev. Dan Holloway.

Two students that had previously received financial assistance spoke on the importance of student support to obtaining student success goals. Robin Breedon and Jacqueline Drakeford each shared a brief story about their return to college, their educational goals, and expressed their appreciation for the work of the Foundation with regard to scholarship funding. YTC Student Jacquie Wells was also recognized for her work in designing the tournament program.

Bill Kimbrell

Mr. Kimbrell served more than 20 years as a member of the York Technical College Foundation Board of Directors. Among many other activities, he was the driving force behind the Foundation's annual Dawn-to-Dusk Golf Marathon, which raised hundreds of thousands of dollars to endow scholarships for some of York Tech's most promising students with financial needs.
In addition to his tireless work on behalf of York Tech and its students, Mr. Kimbrell was a devoted supporter of the Boy Scouts, served as president of the Fort Mill Chamber of Commerce, was on the board of directors of the Gold Hill YMCA, the Winthrop University Foundation, Comporium Communications and the United Way. He was also a strong supporter of the Fort Mill Rescue Squad and the Boys & Girls Club of York County.

The event was quite a success and we are very appreciative of all of our generous sponsors which include:

Title Sponsors:
Leroy Springs & Company
Williams & Fudge

Lunch Sponsor:
Founders Federal Credit Union

Reception Sponsor:
Haile Gold Mine

Hole Sponsors:
Mr. Lad Barnes
Catawba Nuclear Station/Duke Energy
First Citizens
Founders Federal Credit Union
Haile Gold Mine
Duke Kimbrell
Kimbrell Furniture
Leroy Springs Company
Merrill Lynch
Piedmont Medical Center
RH Coca-Cola
Williams & Fudge
Mr. and Mrs. Larry Wilson

Team Sponsors:
Mr. and Mrs. Frank Campbell
Cardinal Health
Catawba Nuclear Station/Duke Energy
Chester Regional Medical Center
Clover Community Bank
Comporium (2 teams)
First Citizens
Founders Federal Credit Union (2 teams)
Haile Gold Mine (3 teams)
Kimbrell Furniture
L&C Railway
Leroy Springs Company (3 teams)
Merrill Lynch
Piedmont Medical Center
Randall Supply
SC Bank & Trust
Mr. Tom Thomasson
White Office Furniture
Williams & Fudge (2 teams)
York Electric Cooperative

Other Contributors:
ATI Allvac
Mr. and Mrs. Ed Barnes
Mr. and Mrs. Tom Carlisle
Chester Foundation
Dr. and Mrs. Ed Duffy
Mrs. Raye Felder
Fort Mill Pharmacy
Mr. and Mrs. Bob Greco
Mrs. Kimberly Herndon
Mr. and Mrs. Bobby Holcombe
Mr. and Mrs. Sig Huitt
Mrs. Joanne Kimbrell
Lake Wylie Business Centre
Representative Deborah Long
Mr. and Mrs. Joe McElwee
Mrs. Lib Patrick
Dr. and Mrs. Greg Rutherford
Mr. and Mrs. Gerry Schapiro
Mr. and Mrs. David Shinn
Mr. and Mrs. Jim Wilkerson
Mrs. Willann Woodward


Send E Mail to: ashirley@yorktech.edu

While every effort is made to ensure the completeness and accuracy of the information supplied on this web server, York Technical College is not responsible for any errors or omissions, external links, or individual opinions.


York Technical College, Rock Hill, SC 29730 | (803) 327-8000